Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

A little help for a newbie?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: February 23, 2007 12:44AM

Hello everybody. smiling smiley

I am completely new to eating raw, but I know that it's something I HAVE to do or I may explode. I'm feeling a little overwhelmed by all this information, though, and I have some questions, if anybody would be so sweet as to help me out.

1-How fast is it possible to make the transition from a regular diet to a raw diet? (I was able to make the change from regular diet straight to vegan a year ago, if this makes any difference.) How serious are the consequences of transitioning too quickly?

2-How important is measuring caloric intake in a raw diet?

3-What would one eat throughout a typical raw day (specifically for a person with minimal knowledge/skill in cookery)? Are salads good to eat?

4-What is a green smoothie?

I'm really excited about this, but I need to know some things before flinging myself out into the unknown. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/23/2007 12:47AM by comma.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: A little help for a newbie?
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: February 23, 2007 01:53AM

Welcome! Thank you for your great & intelligent questions!

1) If you were doing very healthy things and eating very healthy before? Then a transition COULD be very quick....sometimes just a few days or weeks. For those that were eating the healthy side of normal? 3-6 months CAN be a good round number. For those that were eating relatively poorly or without much consciousness? I would set aside & give yourself a very generous time frame of 12-24 months to reach your goals in a comfortable manner.