Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Spreads and sauces
Posted by: rcone ()
Date: March 01, 2007 01:30AM

Hi Guys and Gals, I'm very new to this lifestyle. 23 feb 07 to be exact. I'm learning and doing ok. I'm having alot of trouble with flavor. I like butter on potato's, bread etc. I need flavor and sauces to put on my food. That is my biggest hang up right now. I'm not discoraged but just looking to add stuff as fast as I can. Any sources you can suggest would be great. I had spinal reconstruction sept 8,06 so I haven't worked since. I'm trying to get back on track and this is the way I want to go. I'm committed. I've been called a tree-hugger and such already by even my friends. I don't care. In 4 days I'm off 6 meds including 4 blood pressure meds. I hunt and kill for trophies. Usto eat everything I killed. Now, I guess I'll give it away. Hope that's not offensive. I do respect all your opinions and lifestyles. Just need some help and support getting down this trail. Any help would be appreciated. God bless.

Ron.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Spreads and sauces
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 01, 2007 03:40AM

I use raw olive oil and add a little sea salt keep it in the cooler, makes a great butter substitute. Mostly I just eat food as it is.

Posted by: greenie ()
Date: March 01, 2007 04:24AM

There are plenty of recipes on this site for sauces, dressings, spreads, etc. Check them out and try the ones that appeal to you. You'll be making wonderful, delicious meals in no time. I've taken SAD meat-eating friends and family to raw restaurants (or my home) and they loved the food, some of them even saying it was in the top 5 meals of their lives. So you can make raw foods that are plenty tasty and satisfying.