Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

some newbie questions
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 22, 2007 05:02PM

Hi Everyone,

I'm just beginning to incorporate the concept of raw food into my diet. I've always eaten a lot of fruits and vegatables (in comparison with the average cooked diet), many of which raw, and mostly organic. My meals previous to this new shift consisted largely of a protein (like yogurt, cooked beans, soy, or nuts/seeds), a vegetable or fruit, and a grain. I've now cut out the cooked grain in favour of another vegetable or fruit (i.e. my new meal = fruit + vegetables + protein). I'm working to get away from cooked proteins (using sprouted lentils instead for example), but, as you all know, this is a process.

I have many questions, but for the sake of brevity, I'll limit it to two today:

(1) What is the raw food community's attitude toward frozen fruits and vegatables. I for example, particularly like frozen corn, but read somewhere that the freezing process actually destroys the fibre (thus making it significantly less nutritionally valuable). I know that it's always best to eat food fresh, but I have severe fresh food availability and schedule restrictions during the day.

(2) Does anyone have any suggestions for food combining charts? I'm not (yet) prepared to consider mono eating and do like my fruit; I'm hopeful that there is a resource that can suit my situation.

Thank you kindly in advance!

amanda

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: some newbie questions
Posted by: KelBel ()
Date: March 22, 2007 08:33PM