Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Losing weight (no thanks)
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: August 01, 2007 02:23AM

Hello,
I'm new to raw food living. It's been in the back of my mind for a while now and I decided to finally see what it's about. Well....I love what it's about. I have a concern of losing weight. I'm a petite size. 5'5"and 108 Lbs. and healthy. I know I'll feel better I just dont want to lose weight. Will this happen??? I read how some people lose weight in the beginning then put a few back on after the body is clean. Any information will be helpful. Thank you in advance. Susan

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Losing weight (no thanks)
Posted by: tanawana ()
Date: August 01, 2007 01:37PM

If done properly, a raw diet will bring you to your natural weight or what you really should be at anotherwards. To some this may be thinner than they like. Also, their muscle mass may be lower than expected and exercise or strength training will be needed to bring it back up. Most people seem to fall short on the activity part and go off raw then it seems. Depends on you and how you adapt and how well you educate yourself and follow a good eating plan. There is unhealthy eating even if you are all raw too.

Posted by: perbetty ()
Date: August 01, 2007 02:03PM

Tanawana's right, but there's usually a period of detox that has your body quite thin while you're waiting for that perfect weight. You are likely to lose some weight initially, but you'll likely gain enough back to look healthy.

The theory I'm familiar with goes as follows: