Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
what can you NOt eat raw? ie. potatoes, etc?
Posted by: joanna2007 ()
Date: December 08, 2007 03:33PM

I am wondering - since i am new at this - what can i not eat raw? i know that one shouldn't eat potatoes, but what else? also i love steamed green beans and stir fried asparagus but not so sure about eating them raw? any ideas anyone? thank you!!
goin raw,
joanna

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: what can you NOt eat raw? ie. potatoes, etc?
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: December 08, 2007 03:49PM

There are VERY few things you cannot/should not eat raw. Even those things won't kill you....but probably just taste bad....and might make you sick. Here's the stuff my my list pulled from Wiki - which I hope is helpful (asparagus is fine...but green potato is not....or at least not very tasty! LOL:

Poisonous food plants

* Potato (Solanum tuberosum) All green parts contain the glycoalkaloid solanine - considered inedible when raw; cooked potatoes have had starches softened and rendered edible
* Tomato (Solanum lycopersicum) Foliage and vines contain alkaloid poisons
* Rhubarb (Rheum rhaponticum) Leaves contain oxalic acid salts
* Cherry (Prunus cerasus), as well as other species such as peach, plum, almond and apricot (Prunus) Leaves and pits contain cyanogenic glycosides
* Pokeweed (Phytolacca sp.) Leaves, berries and roots contain phytolaccatoxin and phytolaccigenin - toxin in young leaves is reduced when boiled twice

[edit] Poisonous garden plants

* Privet (Ligustrum sp.) Possibly fatal to humans, berries contain ligustrin and syringin
* Foxglove (Digitalis purpurea) Fatal to humans, contain cardiac or steroid glycosides