Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

What is considered raw
Posted by: cpak ()
Date: March 05, 2008 10:54PM

I have heard that nama shoyu is not raw, and I have it at home. I want to give it away. Is it true? Also are hemp seeds, hemp seed powder, nutritional yeast, soy lecithin, curry powder, cummin considered raw? I am new to raw food and preparing foods for myself too.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: What is considered raw
Posted by: Funky Rob ()
Date: March 05, 2008 11:12PM

Nama shoyu is made with cooked soy beans, but they are then fermented, so it is 'live' again. Not the worst food in the world, but too much salt for me.

Hemp seeds - depends. If you are in the USA and are talking about whole hemp seeds then they will probably have been irradiated. In Europe hemp seeds are usually raw - you can tell because you can sprout them.

nutritional yeast - No

soy lecithin - probably not, don't know.

curry powder and cummin - depends on what temperature they were dried at, but personally I still eat herbs and spices, for me such small amounts don't seem to cause a problem.

Rob

--
Rob Hull - Funky Raw
My blog: [www.rawrob.com]

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: March 05, 2008 11:13PM

Congratulations on your healthy choices!

Short answer: The hemp seeds maybe (you'd have to sprout them to find out)...but not the other stuff.