Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

hair loss and protien
Posted by: luna_sky_1 ()
Date: June 01, 2006 08:07PM

How much protien is needed per pound of body weight to avoid hair loss on a raw vegan diet? my hair is extreemely thick and heavy, but I still don't want to loose any of it.LOLOL!! I'm very new to this and needing to drop at least 80 pounds, not to mention get healthy again. I've been eating only almonds, pine nuts, celery, oranges, and whole grain cereal with soy milk for the past 2 days. I feel much more energetic and alert already!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: hair loss and protien
Posted by: jackie ()
Date: June 02, 2006 12:34PM

I don't know about the hair loss-protein connection, but I am convinced there is a connection to insufficient fats, especially Omega 3 fatty acids.

I take evening primrose oil daily-it contains GLA and is an Omega 3 source. This has helped with hair loss due to medication.

I get about 50-70 or so grams of protein daily from plant sources, nutritional yeast and goat whey. Kale is one of my favorite plant sources, loaded with protein.

Good luck on your search!

Date: June 02, 2006 12:41PM

If I remember correctly, isn't broccoli a good sourse of calcium, too? I went through nursing classes, but neutrition was such a short portion, it's hard to remember.

Posted by: rawmark ()
Date: June 02, 2006 01:10PM