Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

pasteurization
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: June 04, 2006 02:26PM

I am new to the raw scene and my question is: The carrot juice I buy is pasteurized - does it count as being raw?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: pasteurization
Posted by: sweterson ()
Date: June 04, 2006 02:44PM

Definitely not raw Rebekah. If you are serious about the change, you may want to invest in a juicer and juice your own veggies.

Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: June 04, 2006 02:59PM

Umm...thought not. Thanks. Can you recommend any particular brand of juicer (I'm thinking cheap and not much cleaning up afterwards)?

Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: June 04, 2006 04:29PM

Sure. The Jack LaLane juicers work very well (as centrifugal juicers go).

-David Mason

Posted by: jackie ()
Date: June 04, 2006 04:40PM

I now have a Jack LaLayne juicer, its wonderful, about $100, cleanup is not simple but not terrible. All juicer cleanup is a pain.

PROS:
super wide feeder chute so I don't have a ton of prep on the veggies and fruits before juicing

has a large trap in back to catch the pulp - just put one of those plastic produce bags in the trap to catch all the pulp and it makes that end of the cleanup a snap.

fast, not too noisy, not a lot of foaming, I clean it at the end of the day and keep using it all day long.

CONS:
well, cleanup can be a pain. Just that there are 3 juicer parts, the cup and cupholder, and the pulp catcher (the only part not an issue here.)

it's a large machine, so depending on your kitchen counters, it may be in the way to leave it out all day long.

the price may be too high, but perhaps you can shop it?