Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

New and full of questions...
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: June 05, 2006 03:08AM

Hello everyone. I am new to the concept of eating raw and am intrigued by the before and after stories that I have read about.
I have 2 children, one of which is only 7 months old- ever since having him I have had a hard time getting back to my "old self" so to speak.
A lot of what I have read makes sense involving a raw diet, however, I must say- I have no idea where to start!!!
Honestly, most of the foods in the recipes I have never even heard of. (I guess that is pretty sad, huh?)
I was wondering if I could just start with basic fruits, veggies, etc. Has anyone else ever been in this situation?
I am also concerned about my blood sugars- from what I have read I can see how that would eventually level out and not be a problem. My question is how to deal with it during the beginning. Every time I eat a meal of fruit, with in 30 minutes or so I am hungry again and I feel like my blood sugars are off....how would I handle this.
I am also breastfeeding and I would think that would alter what I would need to eat as well.
Sorry for the messy post....I just have so many questions.
Thanks for any helpful advice!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: New and full of questions...
Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: June 05, 2006 04:59AM

I like the gradual approach. Maybe start with breakfast, eating only fruit. Over time, make some of your lunch be fruit or salad. For snacks, replace the snacks with fruit.