Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

New to juicing/blending need some advice.
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 19, 2007 02:07PM

Hi all,

I'm very new to juicing! In fact, so new that I don't even have a juicer as yet!

Have been trying to decide on which juicer to buy and (like others on this forum) have become a little confused. The debate of juicing versus blending has me somewhat baffled, but I think I'm going to start with a juicer (most probably the Hippocrates/Kempo, as it's available where I live - South Africa - and seems to be rated quite highly by many owners). However, from what I've read, I definitely think I would like to purchase one of the high-powered blenders that several sites are promoting. I plan to juice wheatgrass and veggies, but now assume that I will have to blend my fruits.

One such blender is the "Vita Prep 3", which is touted on a couple of sites as being far superior to all others. However, I've not seem any feedback from owners of this blender anywhere else. Can anyone shed any light on this subject regarding pricing/performance etc?

Coober

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 03/19/2007 02:17PM by Coober.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: New to juicing/blending need some advice.
Posted by: LikeItOrNot ()
Date: March 19, 2007 04:14PM

Hi,
Yeah for juicing wheatgrass and vegetables go with the Twin Gear Green Star or Kempo type juicer.

For blenders.. Seems to be a tie between the Vitamix and Total Blender. I think the Vitamix is more popular just because it's been around longer. RawGuru has a comparison chart on his site and if you do some google searches you should easily find some videos on each blender..
[www.rawguru.com]

Date: March 20, 2007 02:15PM