Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

blender or juicer for complete newbie
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 05, 2009 07:13AM

Aloha from Waimanalo on the island of Oahu in the 50th State Hawaii. I need your kokua (help). I've done some researching on the internet, but still don't know what my 1st purchase of a juicer or blender should be. I realize that my current eating lifestyle needs to change (currently transitioning to be a veggie) for optimal health and well being. I'm willing to spend up to $400 (including shipping). Oh, by the way, the purchase would be for myself and my partner. We're both 52 years young.

Any input would be much appreciated!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: blender or juicer for complete newbie
Posted by: Ebhak ()
Date: March 05, 2009 07:58AM

I would suggest a blender, vitamix or blendtec seem to be the way to go, as you keep the fiber intact, they are easy to use and clean, green smoothies, lots of fruit and greens, check out this and some other raw forums about raw foods in general, basically lots of fruit, greens, veggie fruits, in abundance, and use nuts/seeds/fatty fruits more sparingly. 80 10 10 diet by Doug Graham is a good resource to answer many of your questions.

As far as juicing, the main reason I am utilizing it is for getting my greens in until my gut heals up enough to incorporate enough in green smoothies or on their own, but still exploring this area. Some of them are used as food processors to, but hey so can a blender, but some of these tasks are hard on the blades so I have heard to keep them separate.