Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Wheatgrass fungus?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: July 28, 2006 01:22AM

Just wanted to post to see if anybody can tell me why I am getting a purple fungus in the bottom of my wheatgrass trays. I am new to growing and juicing and feel that I may be watering the trays too much but I'm not sure really. The soil I'm using is a standard organic compost mix and I am not adding any peet moss. Also could the juice from these trays cause me harm at all?

regards
nzyme

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Wheatgrass fungus?
Posted by: Wheatgrass Yogi ()
Date: July 28, 2006 07:30AM

I used to have fungus years ago before I started using a ceiling fan. But it was always a white fungus and on top, not purple on the bottom like yours. I'd try different things with the watering and ventilation if I were you. Your fungus shouldn't be harmful unless you juice some of it in with the regular grass juice. I always wash my wheatgrass very well with RO water before juicing. Perhaps washing your grass before juicing it would serve as an extra precautionary measure.
Just as a side note, I like to drink 2 to 3 ounces, sometimes more, of wheatgrass juice first thing in the mornings on an empty stomach. It just seems to start the day off right.........WY

Date: July 28, 2006 04:22PM

What are the long term benefits of using wheatgrass juice?

Posted by: Wheatgrass Yogi ()
Date: July 29, 2006 12:03AM