Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

New Juicer needs advice
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: October 12, 2006 07:44PM

Hi everybody!!

I just found this site today and signed up. Here is my ‘problem’: I’m new to juicing, have done a moderate amt. of research and have decided that this is the way to go for me. I ordered a juicer this week (Miracle Juicer 1000) and want to be ready when it comes.

A bit of history: I’m female, 49 yrs old, about 50 lbs overweight, my parents are living (dad a diabetic & has heart problems/blood clots. Mom has high blood pressure and history of blood clots). My cholesterol very high (in the 500’s; yeah, not a misprint).

I have no energy, my skin itches all the time, I’m getting depressed and I REALLY need to change my lifestyle before I end up like my parents. Or worse!

So, that’s why I’m here. I’m not a big breakfast eater, but I will drink juice. I now want to get into healthy juice, not the junk that’s sold in the stores. Fruit juices would appeal more to me at the beginning. I never was a big veggie eater. I will try this too, tho.

My question: Should I start out slowly (maybe just juice in the mornings)? Or should I do 2 meals a day with juice. And perhaps fish/chicken for dinner (I have a spouse who is going to give me some resistance). I’ll work on him tho.

For those of you who do this on a regular basis, how did you start at the beginning?

Also, when juicing fruits/veggies, do you always use the skin, seeds, etc? I haven’t been able to find much info on this. I had read somewhere that apple seeds are bad. So, should these be removed?

I appreciate any help you can give me. I really need help and I want to be successful at this. I’m open to any helpful suggestions.

Thanks bunches !!