Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

juicing frustration
Posted by: ab5 ()
Date: August 14, 2012 07:57PM

So, I started juicing about 4-5 weeks ago. It was modified in that I ate dinner normally with a fair amount of protein. I stuck to it because I felt great! I had energy for the first 4 weeks. Then one night I woke up at midnight and thought I was going to die. My heart was racing, I could barely keep from passing out, and could hardly walk. I know many of you will say it was detoxing, but I called 911 because I was scared. They found that my potassium was dangerously low at 2.5. I'm a nurse and believe me this is one of the lowest potassium's I've seen. My sodium was also 127, again dangerously low. The only thing I can think of is that I had diarrhea that day from some bad food I had eaten. I kept drinking water, juice, and had a normal dinner that night. But I obviously didn't eat enough salt to replace what was being excreted, same with potassium. Now I have to go see a cardiologist too. I took it easy for a few days, mostly because I still felt awful. Then I made another mistake, I kept juicing, I'll be honest I may have been addicted to it. It's only been about 1.5 weeks since that and I just don't feel as good as before and I am calling it quits, I'm dizzy and weak. I obviously made alot of mistakes, but I feel until this happened I did feel great. I juiced lots of greens, small amounts of beets, carrots, tomatoes, very rounded. I guess I'm posting this because I didn't listen to my body when this first happened, and the people who say heart palpitations and dizzyness and weakness are normal, it isn't. Your electrolytes are screwed up. Since restarting I've been drinking a glass of full sodium broth with my juices and