Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Head on my green smoothies
Posted by: Dulset ()
Date: December 01, 2006 11:01PM

I am new to blending, have been 80% raw for a about a month and climbing, but I find that my blended drinks are full of air bubbles. I use a a Vita-Mix which I love but wonder how long or at what speed I should be blending for optimum nutrition. Air is not good so can anyone tell me how long I should blend say a head of romaine, a banana and some celery? I put in a green pepper yesterday and the drink had a head on it! I use variable speed then switch it on high for 10 seconds or so then back to variable. Very foamy.
I want those phyto-nutrients but not all the air. Can I just blend till its basically liquid or am I making a classic Vita-Mix blender raw smoothie mistake?

Dulset

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Head on my green smoothies
Posted by: sodoffsocks ()
Date: December 01, 2006 11:13PM

Foam is generally created by proteins, I think all the foamy head means is that you've got a bunch of protein from your greens.

Saying that, I don't have vita-mix so there might be something I don't know which others can help explain.

Cheers,
Ian.

Posted by: Wheatgrass Yogi ()
Date: December 03, 2006 02:47PM