Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

basics of juicing
Posted by: Sage10 ()
Date: January 10, 2007 04:09PM

Hey there,

I am new to the idea of juicing foods, fruits etc. and I was wondering how I get started with this...

I am unsure of things like

1) Can I use a normal blender or do I need a 'juicer' specifically?

2) What sort of fruits/vegetables are good for juicing? Or more importantly, which things should I look out for(are not suitable for juicing)?

3) Do I add water? or is purified water required?

4) If I juice veggies then do I need to cook them first or what?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: basics of juicing
Posted by: juicin' john ()
Date: January 10, 2007 05:52PM

a juicer is required for juicing. anyone who tell you that a blender is a juicer is not being truthful. a heavy duty twin gear is what you need for universal juicing capabilities.

Date: January 10, 2007 06:21PM

start out with a half and half carrot apple juice.

water and purified water are only necessary for blending which as i stated earlier is not juicing.

do not cook. juicing is a raw food concept. that is why bottled juices are not eavan a fraction as healthy as raw juice is.

what is your reason for wanting to juice?

jj

Date: January 11, 2007 12:31PM

Hey,

I want to juice mainly as a means of detoxification. I have heard that "solid" foods(so to speak) require many more digestive enzymes to change the nutrients into usable form. Enzymes that could otherwise be used for detoxification.

Also, To get my energy levels up and to stop feeling so lethargic alot of the time.

Date: January 11, 2007 02:09PM

ok... you are on the right track if you can see the importrance of detox.

in my opinion detox is the most important facet of health and longevity.