Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

APPLIANCE CHOICES: Newbie asks your input
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: October 23, 2007 09:30PM

I'm really new at being a raw fooder and am working on getting the right appliances to get off on a strong start. I have a number of questions and I'd love your input....

I bought a brand new Vita-Mix 5000 and Cuisinart Custom Pro 11 Food Processor which are still in their boxes at this writing. I got both of these at Costco.

I'm also considering getting the Tri-Best personal blender as well as the Greenstar Juicer. My goal is maximum/optimum use of the fewest appliances po$$ible.

My questions:

1) Is there any duplication of tasks between the Vita-Mix (wet blender) and Cuisinart Food Processor? If so, what tasks do they have in common?

2) Vita-Mix also offered a dry-mix pitcher for an extra charge. Which is better for dry processing, the Cuisinart Food Processor or Vita-Mix's dry foods blender?

3) The Vita-Mix 5000 came with an 8-cup pitcher. What would be the advantage(s) of purchasing a smaller pitcher made by Vita-Mix?

4) Would purchasing a Tri-Best personal blender be a better choice than getting the smaller Vita-Mix pitcher?

5) I've never bought anything online before. Know of any stores that actually stock the Tri-Best Personal blender?

6) I bought the 11-cup food processor which came with an extra 11-cup bowl, a 14-inch pizza pan and a pizza cutter. Any thoughts on what raw foods could be used for these added bonus items?