Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Do you need a blender AND a foodprocessor?
Posted by: cocoa_nibs ()
Date: November 28, 2007 02:41AM

Hi all, so, I am new to this raw way of life (LOVING it so far, yet MUCH to learn!). One thing I found just about everywhere was: get a food processor. And: Get a blender.

So - I went and got myself the Kitchenaid 9 cup processor (thanks, in part, also to this board) and it just arrived. Now I'd like to get the Vitamix, but hubby doesnt think that's needed, since I got the foodprocessor now anyways, and we already have juicers as well.

my question: what does the blender do that the food processor doesnt do? If you could just get one OR the other, which would you prefer? Can't the processor do nice smoothies and purees, too? How about ice cubes, does that work in the foodprocessor?

Your input much appreciated!
Raw-k on
Cocoa_nibs

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Do you need a blender AND a foodprocessor?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: November 28, 2007 01:12PM

The short answer is yes, you do need a blender and a food processor. After becoming interested in raw foods, I got a K-Tec Champ HP3 and use it every day. (Shop around for the best price!) It's great for smoothies and blended soups, recipes where you don't want any chunkiness.