Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Raw almonds..?
Posted by: DaisyHair ()
Date: September 02, 2010 11:46AM

Well I was so excited yesterday to get my 5# of raw almonds in that I instantly soaked them and now they have had their first rinse and I am afraid I can't think of a thing to do with them. I am brand new to Raw and my mind is blank. My books I have say they will need to be eaten W/I two days and my mind is blank as to what to do with them. I was thinking making almond butter but what do you DO with it? (besides just eat it with a spoon! *smile* ).

I would love some advise.
I have an old dehydrator and am pretty sure it gets too hot and don't want to try to dehydrate my nuts until I get a new dehydrator. (it's an old Ronco - no thermostat)...

For some reason my mind is blank on ideas! Would love some suggestions.

Also wondered what your feeling is on eating nuts with berries?

TIA!~

Re: Raw almonds..?
Posted by: veghunter ()
Date: September 02, 2010 08:08PM

Soaked almonds are good for making almond milk, which you can drink as is or add to smoothies. It's very easy to make and quite tasty. You can put one cup of the soaked almonds in a blender with three cups of water and blend until smooth and then strain with a nut milk bag, sprout bag, or cheese cloth. If you want you can add a flavoring like vanilla or cinnamon, but it's not necessary.

You could also add a small handful of soaked almonds to smoothies or soups as is, without making it into a milk first.