Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
raw beans?
Posted by: ReneeK ()
Date: December 02, 2006 04:27AM

Hi,

I'm really new to the idea of raw foods. Is it possible to eat raw beans? The ones I have are dried and are now soaking in a pot of water. I plan to make a meal of them tomorrow. I'd be open to raw bean recipes for my family to try in the new year.

Thanks!
Renee :-)

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: raw beans?
Posted by: Bikini ()
Date: December 03, 2006 05:20AM

Hi Renee.
The only raw beans that are suitable for eating raw - and by raw, I mean soaked over night and sprouted untill tails grow out of them, are:

Adzuki beans
Chickpeas
Lentils ( all variety of lentils are edible raw - brown, red, green, french, and black. )

All other beans will create a bitter, toxic tasting food product that you won't want to serve *anyone*, let alone your family. smiling smiley

If your soaking beans are a variety other than those I mentioned, I would recommend just throwing them in a slow cooker till they are cooked and either give them away to a cooked-food friend, or else eat them yourself if you still eat cooked vegan foods. ...A slow cooker keeps foods at a lower, more even temperature than the stove top. While not a raw cooking method, its a more healthy way to prepare beans other than boiling.

enjoy!

i breathe in
i breathe out
peace
love
joy
Bikini

Posted by: James Smith ()
Date: December 03, 2006 06:12AM

Chickpeas and lentils are legumes, which are different from the "common bean". Also see [en.wikipedia.org] for some helpful info.

Posted by: Funky Rob ()
Date: December 03, 2006 01:24PM