Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

I have a fear of "old" fruits and veggies, need a guide.
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: May 11, 2007 09:04PM

I'm new to a raw food diet and juicing, taking it slow. I need help getting over my fear of "old" fruits and veggies. Need an example? I'll cut up a cantalope into wedges and place it in a tupperware container. If I open the container and see a little "slime" either on the fruit or along the bottom of the container I throw it out for the horses next door or compost it. I know I'm wasting a lot. It's just the way I was raised, my mother always had to have fresh and questionable foods made her nervous.

Can someone suggest a good guide for fruits and veggies? I'd like a bood or website that tells you 1) how to handle fruits and veggies (parts to eat or toss) 2) how long a fruit is good for once picked or cut 3) what you can do to extend the shelf life of fruits and veggies.

Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: I have a fear of "old" fruits and veggies, need a guide.
Posted by: earthangel ()
Date: May 12, 2007 06:21AM

hey therei am sure ther is something on google..i know i googled how to store strawberries once and found a site don't remember or actually never knew it haha...so if you google it though i am sure you will find it
love earthangel
xoxoxoxo

Much peace and love!!!
EarthAngel
Xoxo

Posted by: Jgunn ()
Date: May 12, 2007 02:53PM

when ever i have some things going on due to acute fridgeitis (lol) i just give them a quick ice water bath .. cuple minutes at most and it perks things right back up smiling smiley

bryan posted something neat howthe fridge warms an cools all day which causees the dehydrating