Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

a halloween dish for a friend
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: October 10, 2007 10:11PM

hello! first of all - i read through the forum for some answers and you are a wonderful supportive group. kudos to you all.

one of my best friends has become a raw foodist in the last couple of months. unfortunatly, many of her friends and family are unsupportive. we are attending a halloween party this month at a semi-supportive home. i suspect they will provide crudites but not much else. i usually bring a couple of dishes (i'm a baker) to add to the table. i've adapted one recipe so her kids can eat it (they eat cooked food but are on very restricted diets), but would like to bring at least two treats she can eat. i'm already planning a "vampire blood soup" (raw tomato soup) but would also like to bring a sweet. preferably not pumpkin pie since she makes that already smiling smiley

so, any ideas or recipes would be greatly appreciated. maybe a cookie recipe? or something halloweenish? apple or pumpkin?

plus - is using my oven on low (100 degrees or so) okay? i don't have a dehydrator.

thank you, thank you!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: a halloween dish for a friend
Posted by: frances ()
Date: October 11, 2007 01:56PM

The RAWvolution "Come Bite the Apple Cookies" are contain apple, almond, raisins, agave nectar and cinnamon. They call for about 24 hours in a dehydrator, but a 100 degree oven should work. Does that sound good?

Also... if you aren't already, I'd suggest including a little beet juice in your vampire blood soup to give it a darker, bloodier look.

Date: October 11, 2007 02:58PM

[www.goneraw.com]

Mouthwatering Pumpkin Pie

Ingredients
-FOR THE CRUST-
2 Cups Pecans (unsoaked)