Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Raw food and in college? Maybe even in Utah.
Posted by: Maurae ()
Date: August 28, 2009 03:30PM

So I am 20 years old, have been vegetarian for 6 years, vegan for a year and raw for a summer. I am starting my first year at the University of Utah and have found I know have no time; what a surprise, right? I want to know if anyone has some tips on transporting raw food, like keeping it in a backpack for a few an hour of two until I have time to eat it between classes? and also I'm somewhat new to a raw food, so any suggestions on where to start with small indoor gardens, what are some good things to grow? how to grow them? and best things to start sprouting? I've toyed with sprouting almonds, walnuts, lentils, garbanzo beans, and pine nuts. I'm also wondering about dehydrators, juicers, and cuisinarts. I do not own any of these, but do have a nice blender. Are any of these more important to have then others? and are there any I can get for cheap?

These are a lot of questions I know, but any feedback would be awesome and if you live in the area I'd love a whole food friend!

Mallory Rae

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Raw food and in college? Maybe even in Utah.
Posted by: eecho ()
Date: August 28, 2009 06:00PM

I think the best thing to own is a blender because you can make smoothies which are bost functional and delicous. A food processor is more for making recipies which are fun but not essential. Same with a dehydrater. I'd say the hierarchy goes blender>juicer>processor>dehydrator. Oh, and a good sharp knife+cutting board makes things much nicer.