Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Raw Marathon Runner
Posted by: Jacquibean ()
Date: January 27, 2009 02:11AM

Hello Friends,

I am new to the raw food world and thus I am very excited and eager to learn. As a marathon runner who is constantly in training, I would love to chat with other runners about the transition to raw food and running. I would love advice about what raw foods aid in sports performance.

Thanks in Advance,
Jacqui

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Raw Marathon Runner
Posted by: flipperjan ()
Date: February 01, 2009 04:52PM

I did my first marathon last year on a nearly 100% raw diet. My first hurdle and then revelation was that I didn't need to carbo load and that I could run for more than 2 hours on a couple of bananas.

I'll happily try to answer any of your questions - I assume you already know about Brendan Brazier and Tim Van Orden - very inspirational

Date: February 01, 2009 11:47PM

Thanks for the extra motivation. I have recently found that I feel lighter with much less stomach woes since I have been going raw. This helps my running a great deal. To put it simply, I feel faster! I do know Brendan Braizer as I bought his "Thrive Diet" book around a year and a half ago after discovering Vega but Tim Van Orden is a new name for me. Thanks for giving me new research.

Do you stick with water on your long runs or do you have a special homemade raw electrolyte drink?

Date: February 02, 2009 10:52PM