Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Body cleansing anyone?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: May 14, 2009 07:45PM

Hello
I am very new to the TOTALLY raw lifestyle, although I was right on the cusp for a few months. I have noticed that my body is going through a definite "cleansing" period to get all the bad stuff out and adjust to the new diet. I am just curious if anyone can relate or tell me their adjustment story. I don't know anyone else who is a raw foody so I am hoping this site will be good support. Thanks!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Body cleansing anyone?
Date: June 20, 2009 06:53PM

The same thing happened to me and I believe it is common. A diet which is low in fiber (the SAD diet certainly is) moves slowly through the GI system. When you increase the fiber intake which raw certainly does, there will be a change in that part of town, so to speak. I felt sick initially for a few days, just sort of toxic, not flu like or anything like that but just sort of yuk. It did pass. I did a couple day fast initially and that kind of brought the yuk feeling on. We are not totally raw at this point but I have definitely listened to my body and brain for feedback which I think is important and we are continuing to move in that direction. We are not all the same so we continue to read and learn, experimenting kind of along the way. Hope it is going better for you.

Posted by: juicerkatz ()
Date: June 22, 2009 01:33AM

Hi Krocodilly ,

I lived the SAD for the first 25 yrs. of my life, really "junking" it up bad. When i finally "saw the light", & made the switch - first to vegetarian, then vegan, then RAW, and also much juicing - I went through a host of very nasty detox symptoms, for several months.