Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

I am excited about this... and somewhat confused (newbie)
Posted by: snarko ()
Date: March 25, 2011 03:53AM

HOW I GOT HERE:

I am 40, a 24-year vegetarian (10 of those vegan; only a year ago went back to lacto/ovo), a recovering alcoholic, and battling candidiasis (yeast infection of the intestines) which is crucial to my recovery.

I should also mention I am a generally good cook, go from "scratch" when I can (I like to: if I can cut it from the yard, I'm happiest), and interested in all "cooking". So while I only subscribe, currently, to vegetarian (I will my whole life), I'm naturally interested in things like macrobotics, ketosis and raw.

I've been on a candida diet for almost two months; barely better, and I've been beating my head off a wall trying to make food for me and my husband. Like vegetarian is sometimes hard enough: no grains?!... when everything starts bread, taco shell, over rice, like what's for dinner?! And that diet has no real vegetarian suggestions for dinner. Salad? I know how to make a salad: tell me how to satisfy my husband with a MEAL! He's open to trying anything with me, but if it doesn't feed him, he'll get cranky.

And I was raised in a Sicilian family; I crave that food. I've already invented a vegan version of everything. I'm an artist: I swear artists are often naturally creative cooks as well.

I was craving lasagna SO BAD but knew even the rice noodle version I do "no boil" to reduce gluten is a "no" to current healing, I thought about the awesome raw one I had at a restaurant here on my birthday a couple of years ago, knew it wouldn't be anti-candida-cleanse with some adjustments (no mushrooms, for instance), and looked for a recipe for basic concept.