Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

here as a result of my evergrowing salad addiction..
Posted by: silverundertone ()
Date: April 16, 2007 04:16PM

im a newbie...names rhiannon..

ive been vegetarian for 6 years, vegan for 1.5 years as a result of a dairy allergy..which has done alot to open my eyes to the way food is produced and how it effects the body.

ive been (about 70%) raw on and off for the last few years and want to keep doing this...as im feeling better than ever.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: here as a result of my evergrowing salad addiction..
Posted by: Fud ()
Date: April 27, 2007 01:56AM

I was reading your "vegan due to dairy allergies" and it brought this to mind.

Here's something interesting I was "tipped" as a result of my use of the word "vegan" to mean strictly dietary changes. A "vegan" friend said "veganism is a moral stance, not a dietary philosphy, the diet just happens to fall inline with the moral stance of animal rights and includes insects (etc.) in the animal kingdom".

Anything not done for moral reasonings isn't veganism according to my friend. Like me, I want to become 100% raw/living for ME. I know the benefits and I want them. I don't purchase things like leather clothing, belts, etc. generally because I can make hemp, cotton, or synthetic alternatives much cheaper. However, I shave with a straight razor and have a very nice strop that has leather on it. By definition, even if I do manage to go 100% raw, I'll not be a vegan because of the razor strop.