Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

newbie here with questions
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: May 02, 2007 08:53PM

Hi all. i have been reading your posts and you all sound like such wonderful people. allow me to introduce myself: i am 51 yrs. old. female. 30 pounds overweight. vegetarian for years, vegan for a while now, and have always been interested in going raw. i am trying it somewhat now. most of the day i eat only fruit and raw veggies. for dinner, a little whole wheat pasta with more raw veggies. maybe a homemade roll with raw peanut butter mid morning.

my questions are: 1. if i am consuming mostly fruit and veggies, obviously my calorie count will be low, will my body go into the "starvation" mode as it has done when in the past on "fad" diets? it is very hard for me to lose weight. the pounds will not budge. i am afraid that all of my dieting in the past has messed my body's responses up. i am afraid that b/c my caloric count is so low,now, going mostly raw, my body will rebel and hang on to the fat. anyone have thoughts or experience here?

question 2: i know raw is healthy. i have been doing lots of reading on it, but how do you know you are getting enough calories? or does it not matter? how low can you go? and is that healthy? does anyone else worry about calorie counting?

i love this forum. your reponses to others are impressive. i would appreciate any answers to these concerns..peace...rm

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: newbie here with questions
Posted by: Fud ()
Date: May 04, 2007 03:28AM

Hi, and welcome.