Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Newbie in NYC...question about fats
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: March 30, 2008 01:37AM

Hi! I'm new to the raw food community, though I've been predominantly vegetarian for about a year now (I just can't turn down venison.) I just got back from travelling around India, and while I loved it there, I gained about 8 lbs and really want to lose it. I'm a dancer, so it's important for me to stay in shape.

A friend of mine swears by Pure, so I've been eating there and at Quintessence for the last new days. I've fallen in love with the food - and the desserts!! That's what I'm hoping someone can provide me with info on...one thing I'm very confused about is calories and understanding why the raw books say you can eat practically unlimited quantities of these nuts and fruits. In my current lifestyle, I try to stay between 1200-1400 calories a day to maintain my ideal weight (5'5", 120 lbs). A typical day for me is a bowl of kashi & raisins for breakfast, a salad for lunch (sometimes w/feta, chick peas, or lentils), and a chop salad or kashi meal for dinner. I snack all day long, mostly on fruit...and I eat POUNDS of carrot sticks, sometimes w/hummus.

I LOVE the food I've been eating at these raw places...it's like a whole new world, I can still have raw veggies but they're prepared in a much more delicious way!! I still feel light after a meal. But I just don't understand how one LOSES weight eating nuts and juice, and since I'm trying to shed the vacation weight I'm concerned.