Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

creating ultimate compost/natural weed control
Posted by: Mislu ()
Date: May 07, 2008 05:06AM

I have been composting for a few years now, and I think I could use a little advice. What materials do you add to get healthy vibrant compost to help your garden plants grow?

I understand that some herbs are particularly helpful to add, like dandelion, nettles, horsetail, comfery, plus any weeds from the garden. I also add some seaweed, powered feathers, leaves, coffee grounds, tea bags. One year I added calcium sulfate, but later found out that wasn't really necessary. I think I need more time, as it always seems to take so much time to compose. But it seems to work, my garden is slowly starting to have things actually grow. Prior to adding compost nothing came up, or everything planted died.

I don't have chickweed or lambsquarter growing anywere yet, so I will need to do something. (these are supposed to indicate great soil fertility)

I found an interesting site about natural weed control. Of course most people don't like weeds, but this gives some interesting insite as to how weeds work, and what they are doing in a particular area.
[www.enviromateinc.com]
The site might also be viewed as ways in which weeds can work for you. Balancing out minerals, accumulating minerals, creating vitamins or other compounds. The most interesting comment on the whole page is about common mullen growing in soils low in xenon. I suppose its possible that xenon is something needed for plants, but I always thought it was inert. But compounds can be made with noble gases, so who knows what importance they could be.

Re: creating ultimate compost/natural weed control
Posted by: Itzdavey ()
Date: May 07, 2008 02:15PM