Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

after harvesting wheatgrass
Posted by: liponeer ()
Date: October 30, 2008 02:37PM

This is my first time growing wheat grass, and it's almost ready to be harvested. But, after I've harvested the grass, should I just allow the grass to grow again, or do I need to recycle the soil? I imagine I will have to replace the soil at some point.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: after harvesting wheatgrass
Posted by: brad ()
Date: November 01, 2008 11:04PM

I was told the first grow ids the most nutrient filled.....ive noticed diminished growing after cutting and re-growing the 2nd time. I going to add nutrients(organic) next and see how long I can run the grow.

Posted by: Sundancer ()
Date: November 03, 2008 02:17PM

I haven't grown wheat grass in a while (maybe I should start), but I would use the first cutting for myself and give the rest to the cats -- they LOVE it!

Posted by: liponeer ()
Date: November 26, 2008 02:39AM

So, my first attempt at using the second growth was that it tasted less sweet and had the bad kind of mold growing near the earth (brown mold). It seemed less healthy, which only makes sense. So, I'm now tearing the second growth up and putting it in my compost stuff, covered.

I did some experiments:

1. Use one cup of seeds per 11"x22" tray.
2. Put seeds on the dirt and cover with a thin layer of dirt, instead of soaking and covering.
3. Cover soaked and sprouted seeds with a thin layer of dirt.