Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Led grow lights and wheatgrass
Posted by: brad ()
Date: November 01, 2008 10:59PM

Im an avid indoor grower. I have recently been growing wheatgrass under my leds and the results have been staggering.
I use all organic soil and germ in the soil.
I use a 90 watt led grow light.
This is my third grow with wheatgrass but from the moment of initial sprouts....
I have a full useable tray in under 4 days
Is this really fast?
What does everyone use for their winter wheatgrass growing?
Does anyone have a favorite medium they use fro their grass?
smiling smiley

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Led grow lights and wheatgrass
Posted by: liponeer ()
Date: November 02, 2008 02:02AM

That's interesting. This is my first time. I sprouted the wheat for 2 days, then put the sprouts on top of soil (organic potting soil) in the tray and kept it covered, because the book I have says to grow the wheat in the dark until it's 2 inches tall... I'm not sure why. So, all together it took about 9 days to get 6 inch tall grass. I used a "neon" grow light during the day after it was 2 inches tall.

It sounds like maybe I should expose the sprouts to light sooner.

At this early stage, it seems like someone probably needs about 4 22"x11" trays to produce enough wheat grass for daily consumption. I was surprised that I failed to find an estimate on how much wheat grass to grow.

Posted by: Jgunn ()
Date: November 02, 2008 05:58AM

im sorta curious about the costs of the lights? i tried finding some info on them but the information seems kinda fledgling .. can you tell me more? smiling smiley

...Jodi, the banana eating buddhist

Posted by: Wheatgrass Yogi ()
Date: November 02, 2008 01:14PM

brad Wrote: