Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Experiences with sprouted legumes?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: November 10, 2009 08:26AM

Hi,

I'm very new to raw fooding, and was wondering what experiences ppl have had with sprouting legumes?

Do they feel good to you? Or is it true that they are best minimized (or left out altogether) from one's diet?

thanks a million,
Brian

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Experiences with sprouted legumes?
Posted by: eecho ()
Date: November 13, 2009 09:28PM

They are not best. Search the forums for sprouting beans. Red beans are toxic and will make you sick if eaten raw. Same with its relatives such as pinto. Don't eat those. Sprouted chickpeas are not as bad although they give many people gas. Mung beans are good. Sprouted peanuts may be ok.

Posted by: Jgunn ()
Date: November 13, 2009 10:02PM

id check out the [www.sproutpeople.com] site , pretty much any sproutable thing possible they have for sale so that can give you an idea , not to mention its a cool site smiling smiley (mke sure you scroll down the whole pages some of their pages have big blank empty spots for some reason)

if the bean isnt on there id think they would know it to be unsproutable for safety reasons smiling smiley they also tell you on most of the links which ones should be cooked or ok raw , and if not then just email them if you have a queswtion they always respond to me quite quickly smiling smiley

...Jodi, the banana eating buddhist

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/13/2009 10:04PM by Jgunn.

Posted by: Thiaggo ()
Date: December 15, 2009 06:00PM

Sprouted peanutsaree greeatheeree in Brasil!!
but not big as a grasss just 8hrs in water then 1 day sprouting (depending of thee temperature)