Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

SAVING SEED
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: May 18, 2010 10:55AM

I have been studying saving seed now for about 3 years. Some plants can cross with others in the same family. I learned the hard way that tat soi and wild mustard can mix. It was ok, just a spicy, hairy tat soi. Also carrot and wild carrot (queen anne's lace). So I have learned to isolate when necessary. Having fun learning!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: SAVING SEED
Posted by: juicerkatz ()
Date: May 18, 2010 08:23PM

Post some info. on it for us? I have been wanting to do this, but I must admit I have been neglecting learning how to save seeds. Drying plants/leaves is another area that I want to get into.

Posted by: Curator ()
Date: May 20, 2010 01:44AM

one important thing to do if your growing something and want the seed to stay true and are afraid of it mixing with something else, at least with flowers, as soon as the flower would open enough to make it possible, id pollinate the flower manually, then cover it in a re-usable muslin tea bag so no bees or whatever can get in to get more pollen in to it... with flowers you do that to you can know for sure their seed will always be true...