Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Beginner advice to sprouting sought
Posted by: Punkrotten ()
Date: August 13, 2010 07:07PM

Hi guys,

So I am a beginner to sprouting. I've already done some almonds, and now I am sprouting some garbanzos, pumpkin, sunflower and barley for a few recipes. According to my recipe, the barely needs 3 days to soak. Its called pearl barely. The garbanzos I have no idea how long to soak, the recipe doesn't tell me. What I do is, I get a bowl for each and fill it up with clean water. After each night I drain and rinse then refill. Sometimes during the day I drain and rinse too.

But so far I have only done this for almonds. Am I doing things right? What are some tips that could make it better? What things do I gotta watch out for? I know sprouts and seeds could rot, how would I know? Anyone know how long it takes for these to sprout? Is there a site out there I could look at that will give me germination times?

Also, if you could recommend a kit or equipment for sprouting and seeds,nuts,grains that are good for beginners, let me know.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Beginner advice to sprouting sought
Date: August 13, 2010 08:37PM

I found this link that shows sprouting times for nuts, seeds, beans, grains etc. Are these fairly accurate?

[www.veggiewave.com]

Posted by: banana who ()
Date: August 13, 2010 09:22PM