Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

suggestions for bug free indoor plants?
Posted by: adrian ()
Date: August 19, 2010 01:57AM

hi everyone....this is my first time growing anything as i lived in a basement for 15 years! so i'm in a sunny apartment now and started some plants like cayenne pepper, parsley, tomatoes, nettle, sorrel, red peppers, dandelion. little green bugs came from i don't know where. i didn't know growing indoors there's still a problem with bugs. how do i get rid of them?

i tried diluted soap spray, didn't work. tried diatomaceous earth. didn't work. tried brushing the little things off, but of course more came back. interesting they didn't touch the parsley, sorrel or nettle and that's all i have left now. they adored the peppers especially.

i want to grow more but i don't want the bugs..

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: suggestions for bug free indoor plants?
Posted by: Curator ()
Date: August 20, 2010 04:54AM

Ive seen recipes involving powdered cayenne pepper and water, sounds like you have aphids, if so then that should work on them... If not, then im sorry to say, you may have to either forgo growing, or physically dispose of the little critters yourself...

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Oh, mirror in the sky
What is love?
Can the child within my heart rise above?
Can I sail through the changing ocean tides?
Can I handle the seasons of my life?

Posted by: Trive ()
Date: August 20, 2010 07:44AM

If the little buggies don"t like parsley, sorrel and nettle, What about blenderizing water with parsley, sorrel and/or nettle straining it and spraying the liquid on your other plants?

It's just an idea, though. I haven't tried it.