Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Small seeds like alfalfa don't grow nicely for me.
Posted by: Diana (Cda) ()
Date: October 05, 2014 03:09PM

Hi everyone!

I've been growing sunseed and pea shoot sprouts in soil for about 4 years now. These grow beautifully. But water-based or small seeds, I just don't have much luck with. When I eat at raw vegan restaurant, I'm always so amazed at how pristine and beautiful the small alfalfa and other sprouts, the kind not grown in soil, are. And I've never in over 10 years grown anything half that well.

The ends of the roots are sometimes withered and brownish and seeds just don't look as well. Granted, I've had flukes and I buy high quality seed so it's the method I use rather than anything else, I'm sure.

How do you get your jar-soaked seeds like alfalfa or adzuki or fenugreek, etc., to grow beautifully plump and white????

Thank you!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Small seeds like alfalfa don't grow nicely for me.
Posted by: jtprindl ()
Date: October 05, 2014 07:26PM

I've found that growing smaller seed sprouts (broccoli, alfalfa, clover) in soil is far easier than using jars, plus it's better for the seeds because they have more exposure to oxygen and aren't crammed together. Just wait until they start to sprout a little bit and toss them on a very thin layer of soil. Water lightly twice daily (morning and evening) and harvest around 1.5-2 inches tall. I juice all my sprouts though... broccoli/radish sprouts, sunflower greens, and wheatgrass are the staples.

Posted by: thimbleroot ()
Date: January 03, 2015 03:28PM