Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

blueberries
Posted by: Kit ()
Date: April 13, 2007 04:34AM

FYI blueberries like to be grown in pots so if you dont have a yard you may still be able to grow them. I planted some this winter and they have flowered and are now forming berries. Can't wait!

Kit

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: blueberries
Posted by: jes8098 ()
Date: April 20, 2007 12:15AM

I just purchased a blueberry plant and am so excited to have some soon. what do you do as far as fertilizing organically?

Since we're on the topic of fruits, do you know if raspberries would be okay in containers as well?! I'm new to the organic gardening, well...just gardening in general! Last year was my first garden and my birdhouse gourds took over! hehehe!

Thanks

~jes~

Posted by: LikeItOrNot ()
Date: April 22, 2007 08:45AM

Where do you get a blueberry plant? I want one.

We used to have a blueberry tree outside but its not even worth it because the damn birds always got to them first.

Date: April 22, 2007 05:28PM

Hello jes8098 and LikeItOrNot,

Sorry it's taken me so long to reply.

As far as fertilizing organically I know you can use fish meal or kelp meal. What you dont want to do is use fertilizer with nitrogen in nitrate form since it can kill blueberries.(I went to a helpful lecture during the winter on growing blueberries. I took notes and have loaned them to a co-worker. I am waiting to get my notes back!) But I'm telling you the things I remember.

In containers you can plant them with a mix of:

the small pathway bark 1/3 or 1/4"
1/3 peat moss
1/3 azalea or other acid plant mix
also you can throw in a handful of sulfur for each plant