Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Weird Question About Staying Awake
Posted by: Catalpa ()
Date: July 02, 2008 02:45PM

Hi everyone (it's been a while since I posted here). I'm a grad student and sometimes have to pull long hours awake in studio or working on a design project. I actually don't like coffee anyway, so in the past have only drank it when I really had to in order to stay awake. I'm also in San Francisco right now, and will be driving back to Ithaca in August. When I drove out here for the summer I made it in my car in *3 days* (!) but I could only do this because I drove long hours (about 6 or 7 am - late at night.) I am ashamed to say that I practically lived on Mountain Dew during this time (gross, I know, but it works and I find it more palatable than coffee.)

Does anybody have any healthier suggestions for my inherently less-than-healthy lifestyle where I sometimes don't sleep much? Ginseng? Caffeine tablets? I plan to eat healthy raw foods on my road trip in August, but I need to stay awake, and i need to stay awake for my next big project next year!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Weird Question About Staying Awake
Posted by: Sundancer ()
Date: July 02, 2008 04:11PM

In the mornings when I know that I'm going to be really busy and don't have the energy, I make 1 Qt of smoothie with 2T flax seeds, ground, 2C. chopped kale, 2T cacao, 1/2 - 1C water, a banana and 2C of whatever other fruit I have, and 3 - 4 dates if I want it sweeter. Keeps me going for five or six hours with lots of energy!

Date: July 03, 2008 03:06AM

Well, my concern isn't so much with energy with the car trip as it is with sleepiness. I can feel energetic and everything, but if I can't keep my eyes open, driving is dangerous!