Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Freon Problem
Posted by: KidRaw ()
Date: February 14, 2013 10:43PM

Here's the story -

Our furnace wasn't putting out much heat, so we had the heating and air conditioning guy come and check it out. He said there are freon leaks inside where the furnace coils are and outside at the heat pump. And it's probably been leaking for years because sometimes it only blows out cold air which I thought was normal, but the guy said that means it wasn't working. So I've been breathing in freon for years now, especially in the winter when the house is closed up.

I'm kind of worried that I've been messing up my health for 7 years and I went online to see how bad freon is and it's toxic if you breathe it directly, but I can't find out if dissipated freon affects you.

Does anyone have any idea of how unhealthy it is or would it only have accumulated in the basement where the furnace is located and it wouldn't have gone upstairs because freon is heavier than air? Should I figure it didn't mess up my health and kill my brain cells?

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/14/2013 10:45PM by KidRaw.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Freon Problem
Posted by: veganjuice ()
Date: February 15, 2013 02:08AM

I would say the minute amounts from that leak would pose very little health problem to you. The most serious risk is a contact burn, or possibly direct inhalation, I suppose.

From what I have read "they" say that it is not an accumulative toxin. A small leak from cracked fittings/etc., especially over years in a large home would dissipate to very low levels.