Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Organic approach to protect roses from blackspot?
Posted by: pborst ()
Date: June 05, 2012 05:01PM

This is my first year growing roses and they've suffered from a disease called blackspot (when it rains a lot, kills the leaves and then the stem). There are products to treat and protect the roses (sprays and system) that are chemical based. I'm just wondering if anyone has a good organic alternative that has worked for them? Thanks in advance. I've lost one rose already. Hoping to save the rest.

Paul

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Organic approach to protect roses from blackspot?
Date: June 05, 2012 09:38PM

Jodi,

You say you haven't had blackspot? right?

do you think vinegar would work to prevent blackspot the way a systemic formula would? Applied by spray I mean.

Paul

Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: June 06, 2012 04:10PM

I apply a natural(but still slightly toxic) treatment from Greencure; it's a powder that you dissolve in a large quantity of water and spray on. Tedious, but works all right. My grandpa, the family green thumb, instilled in me a belief that the aerial parts of a plant will never prosper if the roots are unhappy. I will say this, since I started routinely fertilizing my roses four times a season with Doctor Earth Organic Rose and Flower fertilizer, applied as a composted "tea," the incidence of blackspot has decreased noticeably, even being eliminated in some plants. One rose that always gets infected without fail because it's beneath a gutter that overflows onto it is only slightly affected; this rose is usually overcome by blackspot by this point in the season.

Date: June 06, 2012 09:44PM

Tamara,

Thanks. Greencure is the brand? I will see if I can find it online. Thanks.