Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

fruit only?
Posted by: DCveggieGal ()
Date: August 08, 2008 03:36PM

I've been reading a lot of posts on this message board and I saw some people said they eat only fruit.

I'm a beginner raw vegan and I'm wondering why not vegetables too?

Thanks.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: fruit only?
Posted by: iLIVE ()
Date: August 08, 2008 03:45PM

There are large catagories of fruit and what vegetables are. In reality, vegetables are parts of plants - flowers, roots, etc. Or scientifically speaking, rather. Broccoli, for instance, is a flower. Kale is related to broccoli. Kale is a leaf, or a cruciferous vegetable (as well as broccoli). Fruit is anything that contains seeds on the inside - green/yellow squash, cucumber, bell pepper, avacado, etc are all non-sweet fruits.

SO, now that you know that - roots and flowers aren't all bad, but greens are specifically better. Roots don't contain the most nutrient in the plant most of the time (carrots are less nutrient dense then carrot greens - you know like the thing that gets thrown away). These vegetables are a better source of fiber then anything - ment to expand in the stomach for a feeling of being full and aid in digestion. Same with greens (all types of lettuces - kale is not a "green" nor is cabbage, but some classify it as greens just because they're all leafy like smiling smiley ) --except greens and cruciferous vegetables such as kale provide good amino acids and are packed with vitamins and minerals. Just avoid iceberg lettuce, it's like white bread - does nothin for you.

you can read more about this in "green for life" or on websites about greens and vegetables. Read about this guy's fruit life here:
[www.raw-food-health.net]