Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

New to this--need advice
Posted by: MY*ID ()
Date: August 26, 2008 12:25AM

I am new to raw foods and having just quit 12 years of bulimia about 2 weeks ago, you can imagine that with all of the changes my body is undergoing it's probably close to a state of shock. Because of the horrible stomach cramps that I go through after eating, a nutritionist recommended juicing all morning (veg only) and then avoiding all acidic foods, all fruit, all nuts and all grains! Needless to say this is difficult coming from a SAD diet.
Has anyone experienced difficulties with their digestion here when you made the transition to raw? I am CONSTANTLY in the bathroom yet I never seem to have bowel movements. It's like my stomach will not digest the food, it just sits in the lower half of my abdomen for far too long and its very frustrating! The only fat that I am eating is 1/2 haas avocado at lunch and sometimes the other half at dinner time. I am not eating over 1200 calories at this time, some days I'm sure it is half of that intake. She recommends colonics.....but that kind of scares me at this time. (plus I don't have that kind of extra money)
I don't mind hanging with this as long as it has gotten me through a very difficult stage coming from an eating disorder. But I have been researching constantly for similar experiences and have not heard anyone with the same issues. It's so bad that I can hardly go out because I have to urinate so frequently. Is this just my body adjusting to a sudden dramatic change?
Thank you for any advice and I will keep reading up on this! Love the "Post pictures of your food" thread too---it's great! I have much to learn!