Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Needed vitamins and trace minerals??
Posted by: Custom ()
Date: August 07, 2007 10:42PM

Hello all...

Since I am new to raw (4 weeks) and at times struggling. I am wondering how a person gets all their vitamins and minerals needed for a healthy functioning body. I am attempting to cut down on my fat consumption, by eliminating nuts and seeds, but it sets me up for feeling really hungry (I know fat is good at producing satiation) but that is another topic in itself. Back to the vits and min's question

When I enter all the food I've eaten for the day into fitday.com I come out way short on such vitamins as: A, D, Thiamin, niacin, and B12 (but I've read people supplement for this one as it's mostly found in meats) and short on these minerals: calcium, iron, zinc, selenium, phosphorus and magnesium.

Do raw peeps usually take a vitamin supplement? If you cut down or cut out nuts and seeds which would take care of calcium, iron, Thiamin and niacin. How does a person get the above afore-mentioned vits and mins without supplementation?

Thanks for you responses

Custom

"May all your rides be filled with opportunities to learn and cherish the majestic beauty of the beloved creature, we call the horse!!"

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Needed vitamins and trace minerals??
Posted by: dewey ()
Date: August 08, 2007 12:40AM