Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Looking for advice - Rawbie/Depression & Hypoglycemia
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: July 16, 2008 05:55PM

Hi Everyone (apologies in advance for the long post)

This is my first time posting - I have been trying over the last 6 months to make the raw diet work for me. But I have been having debilitating psychosis and fatigue that I wanted to see if anyone can help.

About 3 months ago, I started eating raw having read Frederick Patenaude and Steve Pavlina's blog. I have included an example day below, with the calorie stats. I was doing fine for 2 weeks at work, then I went to my mums for 2 weeks (eating organic produce only), and then when I returned to work, I was in tear the whole day, having suicidal thoughts and shouting at my family after work.

I have been under extreme pressure recently, the 2 weeks with my mum was for her sugery for a full hysterectomy/removal of cancer. Also, I am deeply frustrated with my job in the city since 2002 which I have to keep for financial reasons. I have been trying to develop home-working opportunities, none of which have really succeeded.

I don't really know what happened, but 2 days before going back to work, I couldn't stop crying all day and that first week back at work. The only thing that brought back my sanity was eating protein.

It is also possible, that switching back from organic to ordinary fruit/veg affected me. I now also know that I should have been taking a Vitamin B12 supplement.