Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

FATS im confused help!
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: July 04, 2009 11:24PM

Hi everyone I'm new here! Im also new to raw food and currently transitioning. I have been vegan and had no trouble. i was very healthy and avoided processed foods. now my question has to do with fats (nuts, avocado, coconut, olives...not oils i don't plan on using them). there seems to be a lot of different opinions in the raw world as to how much or little we should have. the typical american is supposed to have under 30 percent...but we r not the typical american does that mean we can eat more? then there r those who say we should only eat 10 percent...thats a goal im not ready for! im not worried about getting fat from eating fats simply having health issues that go with fats, however, most of these studies r referring to animal fats only! so i am quite confused. i am currently trying to get rid of my daily dose of brown rice and to eat more fat would be the easier thing and more appealing at this point...whats ur thoughts and experience?

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: FATS im confused help!
Posted by: suncloud ()
Date: July 05, 2009 12:14AM

I've personally been very resistant as a rawfooder to lowering my fat intake. It's been somewhere between 20% and 30% for a long time, and I've been very satisfied with that.

However, I recently noticed that if I lower my fats to 10% to 20% (1/4 to 1/2 cup nuts/seeds or 1/2 to 1 whole avocado or sometimes 1/4 cup nuts seeds and 1/2 avocado), my running improves tremendously! I used to get side cramps and now I don't; and even though I didn't lose weight (that's not a priority since I'm already small), I feel so much lighter when I run! It's great! So far anyway.