Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

phlem in throat after eating
Posted by: mark58 ()
Date: August 06, 2006 03:08PM

Hi.

I have been eating a raw diet for almost 4 months and in the last month I've noticed that I often get mucous/phlem in my throat after eating a meal or snack. Has anyone else experienced this? Does anyone know the cause?

thanks for your insight,

Mark

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: phlem in throat after eating
Posted by: learningtofly ()
Date: August 06, 2006 03:14PM

This is mucus protection from something less-than-ideal that you are eating. This exact same thing happens to me, and I've observed this for years. I don't recall it ever happening before raw though. I think the body's primal intelligence becomes more active when we are raw and it starts to quickly identify harmful things and creates mucus to eliminate them.

Some contributors to this phenomenon for me:

Salt
Starchy raw foods
Capsaicin (hot peppers)

Cheers,

LTF

Date: August 07, 2006 04:29AM

I don't use salt or hot peppers... is it possible that this mucous comes from eating too much sweet fruit?

LTF, thanks for your post.

Best,
Mark

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 08/07/2006 04:30AM by mark58.

Posted by: chilove ()
Date: August 07, 2006 03:15PM

No, fruit is ideal and cleansing, not mucus forming at all. What else are you eating?

All the best,

Audrey
www.rawhealing.com

Date: August 07, 2006 04:02PM

mark58 Wrote:
-------------------------------------------------------
> I don't use salt or hot peppers... is it possible
> that this mucous comes from eating too much sweet
> fruit?

It's possible that the cleansing from the fruit is carrying out older toxins in a "medium" of mucous.

I have experienced this.

Cheers,

LTF