Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Mushrooms and Larabars
Posted by: spekgirl ()
Date: September 21, 2009 11:40PM

hey all.
im new to raw eating and i have noticed im having alot of mushrooms i think like 400grams a day at times and also i have 2-3 larabars a day too im wondering if this is okay in the raw eating?

God said, "I have given you every plant with seeds on the face of the earth and every tree that has fruit with seeds. This will be your food." Genesis 1:29

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Mushrooms and Larabars
Posted by: life101 ()
Date: September 22, 2009 12:44AM

S, Some raw foodists eat mushrooms. I don't b/c they are a fungus and I read that they cause cancer. IMHO, I think you are eating so many b/c they have a "meaty" taste. This is the fifth taste, "umami" in Japanese. ( Remaining are salt, sweet, bitter, sour.)

The Larabars are another way of getting more nuts which some use in place of meat protein.

I like Larabars but I eat them occasionally when I go hiking, etc. for a quick snack. I prefer raisins & almonds for a more wholesome snack, though. The freshest would be fresh fruit.

You are still transitioning so be easy on yourself. You will find more wholesome alternatives to what you are currently eating when you are ready let go of your current mainstays. There are lots of websites for free raw food recipes when you want to experiment more.

Plug you food values at Fitday.com to ensure you are eating enough nutrients and supplement when needed. Good luck. Therese

Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: September 22, 2009 12:48AM