Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

Buying produce Questions?
Posted by: stylestacey ()
Date: November 05, 2009 03:55PM

Is there a site or book with information regarding how to pick out the best piece
of fruit or vegetable from the market (grocery or farmers)? I am not good at
knowing what a good cantalope, red pepper, or even orange, and so on.... looks
like, or feels like. This info would help spped up my shopping procsess! so
thanks in advance!

Also, What fruit and veggies are most recommended to be bought organic, and
which can I slide on for now until I have a bigger budget... For instance, I have
heard that broccili is ok to buy non-organic smiling smiley

Cheers!

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: Buying produce Questions?
Posted by: Anonymous User ()
Date: November 05, 2009 04:32PM

here's a list of the dirty dozen, i have this printed out and carry it in my wallet.

[www.organic.org]

Posted by: Tamukha ()
Date: November 05, 2009 05:16PM

stylestacey,

The basic guidelines are that the fruit or veg should have vibrant color, should smell fresh(not off), should be relatively free of blemishes, cracks, scarring(which indicates bad treatment or insect contamination--sign of an unhealthy plant). If it's supposed to be soft when eaten, like a tomato, it should give a bit to pressure from your finger. If it's supposed to be crisp, like celery or stalky greens, it should not be limp. There are always exceptions; some kinds of persimmon are ready to eat when squishy, which typically indicates rot, for example. You basically have to just smell and touch everything you wish to buy to determine whether it's in good condition and ripe, and to pay attention to seasons for things. Here's a chart to get you started:

[www.scribd.com]