Living and Raw Foods web site.  Educating the world about the power of living and raw plant based diet.  This site has the most resources online including articles, recipes, chat, information, personals and more!

Click this banner to check it out!
Click here to find out more!

for you 80-10-10ers -- questions
Posted by: Mona ()
Date: November 23, 2009 12:25PM

I'm just beginning to experiment with 80-10-10 and my numbers seem to be more around 70-75--15-25--5-6 with fat being the middle figure (maybe the fat figure is supposed to be the last one? I've never been clear on that).

How do you get more protein? I'm eating mainly fruit or green smoothies during the day, but at night is when I eat my salad and use nuts for 1)more calories and 2) more protein.

Any suggestions to up my protein intake without adding more fat?
What are your experiences with 80-10-10?

Thanks.

Mona
padremickey,blogspot.com

The stillness of God speaks louder than a choir of voices.

There are many paths up the mountain;
the view from the top is the same.

Options: ReplyQuote
Re: for you 80-10-10ers -- questions
Posted by: davidzanemason ()
Date: November 23, 2009 02:14PM

Have you tried sprouts? I imagine you are getting plenty of usable proteins - as you describe it.

-David Z. Mason

WWW.RawFoodFarm.com

Posted by: Trive ()
Date: November 23, 2009 04:32PM

You can get lots of protein from spinach. On fitday,com it's percentages are:

30% protein
14% fat
56% carb

My favorite raw vegan

Posted by: Bryan ()
Date: November 23, 2009 10:42PM

Mona,

With 80-10-10, its not necessary to get more protein. The recommendation is 10% protein maximum, 10% fat maximum, and 80% carbohydrate minimum.

Dr. Graham recommends getting 5% of your calories from greens. On a 2000 calorie a day diet, this means 100 calories, or a whole head of romaine lettuce.